Kaki Okumura
Jul 8, 2021

--

I love this! I hope you have the opportunity to visit Japan with your family again in the near future! 😊

To answer your question, it’s quite easy to be vegetarian and dairy-free, but Japanese cuisine often uses fish broth (dashi) in a lot of their dishes, which is the major limiting factor for vegans. Although vegan options are a lot more available now then they were a few years ago (especially in major cities like Tokyo, Osaka, etc.)

If in Japan, look around for shojin-ryori restaurants (Buddhist monk cuisine) — these meals are always beautiful, delicious, and they are vegan 🌱

--

--

Kaki Okumura
Kaki Okumura

Written by Kaki Okumura

Born in Dallas, raised in New York and Tokyo. I care about helping others learn to live a better, healthier life. My site: www.kakikata.space 🌱

Responses (1)