5 health mistakes I’ve made so you don’t have to

Invaluable advice that took me years to realize

Kaki Okumura
5 min readJul 28, 2023

--

Illustrations by Kaki Okumura

If you’ve been following me long enough, you know that I had struggled with my health in the past. I went from being overweight to being underweight, and was very unhappy during both periods. I was thinking about food all of the time, so much so that I was constantly stressed about what, how, and when I was eating.

It was no way to live.

Don’t make those same mistakes I had, and instead spare yourself the struggle and confusion — healthy living doesn’t need to be something to obsess over, but an undercurrent to the activities and memories that make life joyful and meaningful.

5 health mistakes I’ve made so you don’t have to

1. Feeling hungry all the time

Hunger doesn’t equate health! It doesn’t even equate weight loss, which I had mistakenly assumed. It just makes you irritated and impatient. Hunger means your body needs food, so you should give it what it needs.

--

--

Kaki Okumura

Born in Dallas, raised in New York and Tokyo. I care about helping others learn to live a better, healthier life. My site: www.kakikata.space 🌱